Tic toc tic toc swings the pendulum. Time, like true love is something of which you can never have too much. Surely there have been times when you have seen someone who has done or is doing something that makes you say, ” That person had/has too much time on their hands.” On the other hand everyone has the right to do whatever they care to with their time. The caveat is looking back and wishing that the time had been used on something that  yielded a greater bounty.  On September 2, 2011, I made a decision to read a book titled The Wealth Cure  Putting Money in its Place, written by Hill Harper. Mind you, my house needed to be cleaned, I was way behind schedule on writing my own book, and I had other personal business to take care of. When I tell you the past three weeks have been time well spent, in between work, taking care of a household emergency, the dog, and sleep I was reading TWC (The Wealth Cure).

The book is proof that so many of us are more alike than different. I saw my life, as well as stories similar to mine, but not so much, and the lives of acquaintances and loved ones scattered throughout his pages. Damn! I even started singing Roberta Flack, I felt he found my letters and read each one out loud…Killing me softly with his song. Some things  wonderfully good, some regrettably bad, some ugly paintings of  fears and misunderstanding splattered on heavy stock, ecru, paper. I was behind on my book because I was stuck. The stories locked in my head longing to rest between pages and be shared.  So many brilliant strokes offered by the universe left aimlessly drifting without an anchor. An acquaintance recently accused me of procrastinating. I said, ” Hey! This has to be just right. We tryna save lives here! ” To a certain extent he was right. I was so afraid of not writing the book in a way that would accomplish the aforementioned desire that I froze. What if I forget to say something important that can save a life? What if I can’t find a publisher? What if I have to publish it myself  and or can’t get the desired circulation?  No doubt a feast fit for a deadly venomous fear feeding wolf. The Wealth Cure helped to release that ridiculous fear. I call it ridiculous because I know that the book is being written in honor of those I love, and those I may never meet but want to live a life filled with joy and good health. It was ludicrous because I know that the universe is going to open itself up to my needs and desires. And stupid because if you are still reading this you know I write well.  Slowly I felt the veil being lifted and I was inspired to resume my mission.

People have been asking me what I thought about TWC. Understand  that you must read TWC for yourself. I affectionately refer to TWC as The WHealth Cure , defining wealth, defining health and the intersection thereof. I thought that I would read the book over labor day weekend but the journey was so interesting I took time to research many of Hill’s sights and thoughts. I even saw He Got Game for the first time. Cute Boogie! I found myself including Mr. Harper in my prayers. Praying that God keep him keep him healthy as he moves forward on this journey towards unreasonable happiness. I pray that he be enriched as he has enriched others. By the way, am I the only one who hears his voice as the narrator of the book? Now I know what Second Line Dancing is.  I absolutely love his friend Tracy and pray the best for her. I have changed the way I think about and respect money. And, I will make time to take a train ride somewhere as my mother encouraged me to do for nine years before she died. Maybe I’ll take a ride to New Orleans. Believe it or not I’ve never been. Do trains go to N’Olans?

I am still breathing. In 2006 I had the rare and wonderful and opportunity to work with Sammy Mc Kenney. At that time he was writing a song for Jennifer Hudson. He has also written songs for Patty Labelle, Chaka Kahn and Anita Baker among others.  We got the song finalized and we were undergoing the arduous task of shopping it. It was difficult. One day I asked Sammy, “Do you think that I am too old for this. Do you think that I can still be successful?” Sammy asked me, “Are you still breathing?” Sammy and I spoke regularly exchanging calls until one day, he didn’t answer my calls. I asked my cousin about him. My cousin said, ” You didn’t hear? Sammy died months ago.” Are you still breathing was the last conversation I had with Sammy. Sammy remains on my board of advisors as he left me with everlasting wisdom. Understand that no matter where you have been or what you have been through your future is spotless. Right now today you can choose to shift the paradigm on your health habits, finances and relationships.  TWC helped me to  realize that you can’t really get to know someone or accomplish a goal by standing on the sidelines as a silent observer and listening to hearsay. Assumptions are NOT your friend.

As I reflected on the stories it came to me that The Wealth Cure is like sitting outside on a balmy Colorado night with a good friend, talking and gazing at the stars. If you have ever been to Colorado, especially Colorado Springs you know how beautiful the stars shine there, especially in the winter.  That friend reminds you of who you were, whose you are, and who you can and are going be. They forgive your faults, support your dreams and share what they have learned, thereby enriching your life. Illuminating a rainbow after the storm by day and mark the North Star by night. How can you not realize how FABULOUS you are and how you deserve to be UNREASONABLY, UNREASONABLY, UNREASONABLY HAPPY!!! Unreasonably happy not only because they said so, but because God promised it.